The Norfolk Island Police Force


tags: Norfolk Island Police Force, Australian Federal Police,

discussion: 0 comments

Norfolk Island is one of Australia’s external territories. It is located in the Pacific Ocean, over 1400 kilometres from Australia. The island has a coastline of 32 kilometres and two small uninhabited islands lie to the south. After temporary penal settlements in the late 18th and early 19th centuries, the island was permanently settled in 1856.

The history of policing the island has been lost in the mists of time, although the Commonwealth assumed responsibility for providing policing services when Australia federated. Early police officers were a mix of local residents or police from mainland Australia.

The Norfolk Island Police Force came into existence on 14 October 1931 with the passing of the (Norfolk Island) Police Act 1931. Today, the force consists of three Australian Federal Police on secondment, along with a number of local residents who undertake policing duties on a part-time basis. Further information about the Norfolk Island Police is recorded in the March 2012 issue of the APJ (Vol. 66, No.1). A feature on the Norfolk Island Police Force shoulder patch is on the outside back cover of the December 2012 issue of the APJ (Vol. 66, No.4).

The elements of the Norfolk Island Police Force shoulder patch (introduced in 2011) include the Federation Star encompassing the Norfolk Island Coat of Arms, which are composed of elements such as a Norfolk Pine, a kangaroo and a lion (the latter representing historic links with Great Britain, New South Wales and Tasmania). The wreath depicts Norfolk Pine leaves.

Want to read more of this article and others? Click here to subscribe

No Comments

You must login to post a comment.

Not a subscriber? Click Here
Forgot password? Click Here